Bone? From New Mexico?

iluvrobin

I'm just starting to learn about fossils. The other day I bought a box of rocks and this was one of the fossils in it. (not as exciting as finding my own, but there was some neat stuff in there!) There were mailing labels on the box between the geology departments at the universities here in Albuquerque and in Socorro, NM, so I assume they were found in NM. This is about 6" long. Can anyone give me an idea of what it is? Thank you!

post-12186-0-63455300-1370992462_thumb.jpg

post-12186-0-93139100-1370992475_thumb.jpg

post-12186-0-49071300-1370992481_thumb.jpg

It is an important fossil possibly stolen from the university? I see some grain that indicates bone, but I can't ID what type. Please email the paleontology department to make sure this wasn't "lost" in the mail.

Edit: Sorry, I forgot to say Welcome to the forum :)

Edited by Scylla

I hadn't thought of that. The mailing labels are from the 1960's or so!

Wow, OK. Some geologist brought his work home and it ended up in the estate sale? :blink: Seems you have more than one mystery on your hands! What else is in the box?

As for what it is, My brain is getting no traction at all...

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Would love to see what is in the box but, well, it is posted to FB so guess I will just imagine what it is.

I didn't want to use up all the space here, I'll be glad to post the pictures here instead if you'd like.

I didn't want to use up all the space here, I'll be glad to post the pictures here instead if you'd like.

Space we got! :)

• I found this Informative 1

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant