Petrified wood?

markey

• New Members

Hi newbie here. Hoping someone can help me confirm if this rock I found on our property in central PA is petrified wood. Very dense material, and it looks like a chunk of decomposing hemlock. 

Thanks!

065BE23E-CAF0-4D50-9BAB-09FF91BF10FB.jpeg

Welcome to TFF!

Can You post pictures of all sides and the ends of this piece?

I think it is a weathered concretion, but more pictures may change that opinion.

Darwin said: " Man sprang from monkeys."

Will Rogers said: " Some of them didn't spring far enough."

• Vertebrate Fossil of the Month AwardVertebrate Fossil of the Month AwardPaleo Partner AwardMember of the Month

My Fossil collection - My Mineral collection

My favorite thread on TFF.

I see what appear to be knot holes:
~~.jpg

If it is stony-hard, it looks good for petrified wood to me.

Images as good as this one, from other angles, will help.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

• New Members

Wow thanks for the quick responses. I can’t figure out how to post more than 1 pic with the 3.95 MB size limit. It is definitely stony hard, and the end is flat as if it was cut. 

F0702A49-526C-4401-9DF0-9F81A33DA549.jpeg

I have the issue with not being able to upload pics too. I email the ones I wish to post to myself. When I click send it asks me what size I wish to send them as. I pick the sized less than 3.95 mb.

It looks like wood to me.

I can see why it might be confused with an ironstone concretion though. I’ve seen thousands of ironstone concretions in numerous states. Some I have actually have wood inside the concretion.

I believe it is petrified wood too, but would like to see a pic of the flat end to see if there are tree rings present.