Ground Penetrating Radar

glacialerratic

In the spirit of Pleecan's posts on innovative tools for hunting fossils, while we northerners while away the winter hours, I thought perhaps sonar might be something to use on the Arkona shale.

Other than units for fishing, I have no knowledge of this stuff. I googled, and came up with this site:

Ground Penetrating Radar Systems

Unfortunately, you have to hire their services (they have an office in Detroit). But, I wonder if there are other ground penetrating units, or sonar that might work.

Anybody ever heard of this stuff being used in paleontology?

Just curious,

Tim

seems like data interpretation involves some degree of voodoo. also, apparently the sensing really isn't "radar" in the traditional sense but more like electro-magnetometry, which make it ineffective in certain substrates.

here's a link illustrating the use and results in various applications, including finding dinosaur tracks - link

I know that GPR has been used on pegmatites to find gem mineral deposits. link But, the nature of a gem pocket is significantly different than the surrounding rocks. Unless you're looking for very large fossils in a very uniform strata...Perhaps it would be useful in locating large masses of fossils, but it is very difficult to interpret the data, as tracer suggested. But, in the right place it might be worth experimenting with.

Interesting idea. The only application I know of is finding old settlements where there are foundation remains that show up.

-----"Your Texas Connection!"------

Fossils: Windows to the past

A lot of GPR is used in archaeology... image anomalies in the ground ie hollow cavities in the ground = burial chambers etc...... maybe it can be used to map out buried dino bones of articulated skeletons... to give direction where to dig.... just a thought. PL

• 1 month later...