Mazon Creek Freeze/Thaw

TyrannosaurusRex

Howdy folks. I had a question about soaking mazon creek nodules before starting the freezing process. I’ve had mine soaking in water for 2 days (prior to the first freeze, will be several more days), and there seems to be oil on the surface of the water. Is this normal, or is it something I should be concerned about? This is my first time doing this, and I just want to make sure I’m doing it right. 

It is just plain water, I’ve added nothing else to it. 

458659C0-16AE-4F60-89B2-D8F0AF877D59.thumb.jpeg.80bed202d5991871db91d7eb1fcb76c5.jpeg

Thank you!!!

Yeah, I have noticed that concretions from certain areas tend to release an oily residue. 

• I found this Informative 2

Sure its oily? Looks like a thin film of "iron hydroxide" on the water, formed by the oxidation of dissolved iron sulfate. Iron sulfate may come from rotting pyrite/marcasite associated with the nodule or the dirt adhering to it.

Franz Bernhard

• I found this Informative 5

They were pretty filthy, yes, I cleaned them off just with a brush prior to being in the water. Thank you for the information! Very odd to see it on the surface of the water. I am excited to have them going in the background though, it’s a great thing to look forward to during school. 

2 hours ago, FranzBernhard said:

Sure its oily? Looks like a thin film of "iron hydroxide" on the water, formed by the oxidation of dissolved iron sulfate. Iron sulfate may come from rotting pyrite/marcasite associated with the nodule or the dirt adhering to it.

Franz Bernhard

It looks oily, but I know different things could cause that appearance so perhaps it is indeed not oil. Thank you so much for the info! That’s really useful. 

thank you all for your replies! Im relieved it’s not an issue. 

• Thank You 1

5 hours ago, FranzBernhard said:

Franz Bernhard

Thanks Franz! That would be a good explanation for it. 

• Thank You 1