Bell shaped fossil

Daisyjpoe

Resembles a rugose coral, but I'm not an expert on corals.

• I Agree 1

Mark.

Fossil hunting is easy -- they don't run away when you shoot at them!

49 minutes ago, Mark Kmiecik said:

Resembles a rugose coral, but I'm not an expert on corals.

I likewise had this thought, hollowed out horn coral. I am also however not an expert- amateur that’s seen a lot of horn coral in various states of preservation 

Hi,

Dice are not a good rule for specimen size, there are dice of all sizes. Look in my signature for your next pictures.

Coco

Edited by Coco

----------------------
OUTIL POUR MESURER VOS FOSSILES : ici

Pareidolia : here

Ma bibliothèque PDF 1 (Poissons et sélaciens récents & fossiles) : ici
Ma bibliothèque PDF 2 (Animaux vivants - sans poissons ni sélaciens) : ici
Mâchoires sélaciennes récentes : ici
Hétérodontiques et sélaciens : ici
Oeufs sélaciens récents : ici
Otolithes de poissons récents ! ici

Un Greg...

Badges-IPFOTH.jpg.f4a8635cda47a3cc506743a8aabce700.jpg Badges-MOTM.jpg.461001e1a9db5dc29ca1c07a041a1a86.jpg

Hard to tell.  Whatever it was, it dissolved away leaving the mold, and calcite(?) crystals grew in the opening.  Based upon the roughly triangular shape and the radial spray of crystals at one end, a rugose coral, as noted by others, is a fair guess

PS I like the die for scale.  Nice improvisation

• I found this Informative 1
  • I Agree 1

'Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.'

George Santayana

It doesn't look like replacement to me, but rather a pure crystal formation within a vug. I'm also wondering if the stone itself isn't of metamorphic origin.

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/

3 hours ago, Ludwigia said:

It doesn't look like replacement to me, but rather a pure crystal formation within a vug. I'm also wondering if the stone itself isn't of metamorphic origin.