Where To Find Fossils?

Brandon

• New Members

Im new to fossil digging and have really only found sharks teeth so far. I have about 50 sharks teeth that i have found at beaches in florida and i wanted to know if anyone can tell me where i can look?

First off, i live on long island new york. I figure that 10 million years ago, long island was part of the atlantic ocean. Why do i never find sharks teeth at the beaches on long island, but i find them in florida? Are there any places not far from new york city like streams or creeks where i can find fossils? what should i look for in a creek or stream to find fossils? does there have to be certain elements or something present for fossils to exist in a creek?

as far as i know...the only place to find fossils on l.i. are some occasional leaf/flower impressions found in the cretaceous clays on the north shore-lloyd neck areas. if you want shark teeth, drive an hour or two south of you, and hunt for them in big brook/ monmouth county nj. there are lots to be found there. google it.

You've got terrific resources in NY City -- join a fossil club and talk to some of the members. They also have collecting trips where you can learn how and where to collect.

One of my best shark teeth came from Ocean City, NJ on a public beach -- but that's pretty rare, especially in such great condition.

as far as i know...the only place to find fossils on l.i. are some occasional leaf/flower impressions found in the cretaceous clays on the north shore-lloyd neck areas. if you want shark teeth, drive an hour or two south of you, and hunt for them in big brook/ monmouth county nj. there are lots to be found there. google it.