Logging Or Recording Your Finds

The_Piper

I'm new to hunting and collecting. I just started this spring. I am often finding more than a dozen marine fossil rocks in one day. Comfortable hunting conditions are short-lived here, so I'm doing as much looking as I can.

I was logging my finds by numbering the rocks with a letter for the place found and number for the rock. Then writing a brief description in a notebook.

That worked when finds were more limited.

Now I am so far behind record keeping that I lost track of what days I found what. I have still been keeping the rocks from different places separate.

What do collectors who have large amounts of fossils do to keep them in order?

Here's the easiest method, called the Grinnell system. Each time you make a collection (one bone, tooth, or many, as long as they're from the same layer/small area, i.e. locality) you write in your initials; i.e. for myself, RWB-001. Then write a short description of the site, include the date, and the stratigraphic position of the collection. In the field, I write "RWB-001" on the plastic bag for the specimen, and then when it gets prepared, I paint a white rectangle on the fossil where I write the "RWB-001" field number. Bobby

• Thank You 1

I'm new to hunting and collecting. I just started this spring. I am often finding more than a dozen marine fossil rocks in one day. Comfortable hunting conditions are short-lived here, so I'm doing as much looking as I can.

I was logging my finds by numbering the rocks with a letter for the place found and number for the rock. Then writing a brief description in a notebook.

That worked when finds were more limited.

Now I am so far behind record keeping that I lost track of what days I found what. I have still been keeping the rocks from different places separate.

What do collectors who have large amounts of fossils do to keep them in order?