Petrified Fingertip

sawlog

• New Members

Hello everyone, I found something that is a first of it's kind I've been told.  This needs a close and careful look, so please examine all the details.

And I can't wait to hear what everyone has to say on this one. 

I've been collecting rocks and fossils for 25+ years here in N.E. Minnesota.  I found this on private property a few years back, and it sat in my collection until recently  I looked at it again and seen it for what it really is finally. 

I am certain this is a petrified fingertip. And I know it's hard to believe, but take a close, and careful look at it please before any conclusion you have.  I respectfully will listen to any and all the responses of everyone's given.  It's the same size as my pointer fingertip from the tip to the first knuckle.  The nail is clearly visible, fingerprint is also visible and opposite side of the nail as it should be. And the thing that confirms it for me the most. The picture of a cross section diagram I found on Google images of a fingertip matches my specimens nearly perfect.

Compare the details from one to the other closely. Do you see it the same as I do? I researched and found this have been possible by nuclearpholic substitution. I

have had people argue that it's impossible for this to happen to soft tissue. But I've also found examples of soft tissue in the right conditions were in fact fossilized by minerals. The cross section diagram match nearly exact if you carefully compare with my specimen.  Thanks for your time and any response given everyone.  

Screenshot_20220827-025031.png Screenshot_20220927-101824.png

Screenshot_20220927-101756.png Screenshot_20220927-102115.png

Screenshot_20220927-101738.png Screenshot_20220920-234026.png

Screenshot_20220827-025112.png

InCollage_20221107_120648851.jpg

InCollage_20221107_120420560.jpg

InCollage_20221107_221037129.jpg

Hi,