Would like to find a few ammonites in North Texas

Mimzie

• New Members

I'm very new to fossil hunting (I've never been!) But I am hoping to find some ammonites in North Texas. The problem is I am not sure where exactly to go and the 2nd problem is, I'm very limited on time (and money) SO i need a day trip (I'm about 4hrs away from Dallas area). I see Spring Creek is a good spot... but that creek runs forever it seems! I'm not looking to take a car load home, I'm looking for just a few pieces! My 78yr old mother and 75yr old aunt would be thrilled to have an ammonite!! But i gotta find it myself! It would be kinda cheating to just buy one some where. 

So can anyone pinpoint me to a location where I should be able to find a few (small ones are just fine!) And like I said, limited on time and money! I've got a bunch of kids (8 with 5 still at home) and a full time job (stay at home mom) at home! So hoping for a place I can find a few in a few hours (cant justify spending money on a hotel and cant afford it either) I'm willing to do the work, just need a location! 

Rachel

Edited by Mimzie

I'm not a Texan, as you can see from my profile, so I don't know your area and unfortunately can't help you directly with your request, but I would at least like to suggest to you that you look for a rockhounding or fossil club in your area which you could join or at least contact. They always have a lot of experienced people who are willing to help newbies and offer excursions. Hopefully someone from Texas will come along here soon and point you in the right direction.

• I found this Informative 1

Greetings from the Lake of Constance. Roger

http://www.steinkern.de/

4 hours ago, Mimzie said:

But i gotta find it myself! It would be kinda cheating to just buy one some where. 

IMO buying may be a good option

There are some very nice polished ammonites that would make an attractive display piece. Particularly the ones from Madagascar 

• Thank You 1