Is sweat harmful to fossils?

Ginger0412

I don't think so, only liquids like oil can be dangerous. depending on the formation and matrix, a very sandstone like fossil can be fragile to water / sweat. therefore you can better protect them by adding a special product to it, its been posted on the forum before but Im not an expert at this. This is only important if you would find a fossil yourself in my opinion , usually sellers would already treat it.

Holding fossils makes me cautious, not nervous.  Just minimize handling them, they are not toys, and when you do its best over a soft surface at table height.   The slight amount of moisture and oils in your sweat should not affect them.  All fossils should be coated with a consolidant to preserve them so that's an added protection.  If you are concerned and become nervous consider wearing white cotton gloves when handling them.  Keeps them dry and gives you a more stable grip.  

• I found this Informative 1
  • I Agree 1

On 2023/2/12 at 午後8時10分, Phos_01 said:

油のような液体だけが危険です。

Thank you for letting me know.l’m relieved to hear that.

On 2023/2/12 at 午後8時51分, Troodon said:

白い綿の手袋を着用して取り扱うことをご検討ください。

I'll look for it next time.

Thank you for letting me know.

too much handling will stain fossils from natural oils in your hands/fingers.  This is less admirable and will stain the fossils, but it tales a lot of handling.  A lot.   

2 minutes ago, jpc said:

取り扱いが多すぎると、手や指の天然油から化石が染みます。これはそれほど立派ではなく、化石を汚しますが、多くの取り扱いが必要です. 多くの。   

Thank you for letting me know.

Like the others said: It really depends on what the fossil is composed of. I have some fossils that I could run under the kitchen sink all day and others that even a wipe from a moist paper towel would ruin. 

Likewise with holding them there are going to be some that should not be held and others that are okay to be passed around a classroom. 

If in doubt it is better to be cautious. 

• 2 weeks later...