Dipping my toe in to micro air abrasion prep with a tricky fossil crab

mamlambo

I've got some experience with air scribes and acid (acetic) but haven't used air abrasion much. I recently got a new micro air abrasion unit and tried it out on a sticky crab that had a growth on it with some good results using dolomite.

Before photo:

20230115_202040.thumb.jpg.d83621eeb634ba2e3f228040a186cea5.jpg

After photo (work in progress, about 25 of prep time):

20230316_100807.thumb.jpg.f7757efc04b71cd682acbed3f16081f1.jpg

20230316_220052.thumb.jpg.538a12302d3dff471fa86b5336e77037.jpg

20230316_220116.thumb.jpg.f55132a7355cb0081ebdac4ee6212a14.jpg

One of the challenges I have is that is it really hard to find media between 50 and 100 microns here in New Zealand and shipping is quite expensive. I can sift my own dolomite, it just takes ages! I wonder if anyone has any tips for finding iron powder or is there an easy way to make your own?

Here's a video of the unit I am using as well as my setup, any help / suggestions welcomed! 

• Enjoyed 3

Oh boy!  I've seen a heck of a lot of Tumido's but never one with this "stuff" on it.  Quite interesting.  By any chance do you know what the growth is?  And I never would have dreamed that one could use Dolomite in a crab and not leave those god awful wave patterns on it?  I wish I could help you out with where to get 50 micron dolo, but have no idea in NZ.  Best of luck to ya with that. 

RB

Have you tried pottery supply places in NZ for dolomite?  That is where I get mine.  You still have to sift it but it sifts pretty quickly.  NIce crab.

• I found this Informative 1

I am not convinced of the use of a micro sandblaster to prepare crabs. It's too abrasive.

We can clearly see the result on the shell and especially the claws of this crab.

This crab was fossilized with pyrite (the ribs are visible). They can never disappear.