Where to start learning?

Daisbea

Hi! 
So im 16, and really want to learn how to identify fossils and learn different extinct species, but whenever i try, I always forget the information. How did you guys all learn this information, and where can I get what you used? 

thanks!

I've been 16 at least three times now,and I'm still learning.

Hi and welcome

In all probability you couldn't have come to a better place to start learning about fossils

Edited by doushantuo
  • I Agree 1

21 minutes ago, doushantuo said:

I've been 16 at least three times now,and I'm still learning.

Hi and welcome

In all probability you couldn't have come to a better place to start learning about fossils

Where on here can I find some useful information outlining the basics?

Welcome to the forum!  I would start by searching the forum for your location (for me, that would be South Carolina, Summerville, Charleston, etc.).  That should pull up posts where you can see what other people have found in the area, trip reports that might mention locations, any previous conversations about the formations in the area, etc.

Fin Lover

image.png.e69a5608098eeb4cd7d1fc5feb4dad1e.png image.png.e6c66193c1b85b1b775526eb958f72df.png image.png.65903ff624a908a6c80f4d36d6ff8260.png image.png.e69a5608098eeb4cd7d1fc5feb4dad1e.png

image.png.7cefa5ccc279142681efa4b7984dc6cb.png

Welcome to the Forum

16, long time ago :eyeroll:

TFF is a great place to learn, look to the threads Fossil ID and all the others.

To get a lot of informations about basics (as I contributer in Fossil-articles I would recommend) go to search in WIKIPEDIA. Most of the Wiki-infos are correct and nice, to learn it is a fantastic place.

Or, ask us with everything you like to know