Fossil ID…found in Northern Missouri. Lincoln County to be exact.

laurachristine1970

• New Members

First and foremost, I’m new to fossil collecting and what an amazing journey it’s been.  I live in Lincoln County Missouri near the Cuivre River and have found some amazing fossils. It seems the creek that flows into the Cuivre is CHOCK FULL of “death plate fossils” (sorry if I used the wrong terminology). Being a “newbie” I have many ID’s to request. I will start today with my newest find.  

IMG_4100.jpeg

IMG_4099.jpeg

IMG_4098.jpeg

• Enjoyed 1

It is a steinkern of a horn coral. This is the sediment that surrounded and filled the coral, the actual coral has dissolved away.

• I found this Informative 1
  • I Agree 5

I agree with Rugose coral steinkern.

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png    VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015     MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png  PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png   Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg   Screenshot_202410.jpg      IPFOTM -- MAY - 2024   IPFOTM5.png.fb4f2a268e315c58c5980ed865b39e1f.png

_________________________________________________________________________________
"In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks."

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

This is an external mold (probably now silica) composed of sediments that filled the top of a horn coral also known as the calyx of a coral. The “fins” are exterior molds of the septa.

Steinkerns are internal molds such as the hardened sediment inside a closed bivalve.

https://fossillady.com/tag/helliophyllum-facts/

A88EFB99-AD96-48DB-A849-40637E24F0DE.jpeg

Edited by DPS Ammonite
  • Enjoyed 2

My goal is to leave no stone or fossil unturned.   

See my Arizona Paleontology Guide    link  The best single resource for Arizona paleontology anywhere.       

27 minutes ago, DPS Ammonite said: