Need help identifying please,

BrittanyM

I’m no expert but from the looks of the Porous surface, I’m thinking some type of bone, can anyone please help my identify this please also is there a way to tell what era from the color? 

IMG_6004.jpeg

IMG_5999.jpeg

IMG_5998.jpeg

IMG_6002.jpeg

IMG_6003.jpeg

IMG_6001.jpeg

• Enjoyed 1

Without age, location, formation etc etc,  specimen is so fragmentary that no positive id can be made other than "nondescript bone"

• I found this Informative 1

Welcome Brittany, 

Ted is correct ,  we can be magicians,  and would need more info...  In this case , I will accept your tag Mississippi as where these fossil came from..  

Also,  since we have members from all over the world,  it is just courteous to show sizes in millemeters.IMG_4820.thumb.JPG.4f51a8e21d27a029e79014ce7891cce1.JPG

I have hunted Florida for a long time.  Some fossils have porous cells and some do not ..  Think of osteoderms... (alligator, Glyptodon, giant armadillo),  or hoofcores or kneecaps (patellas),  or turtle /tortoise shell.  I find many fossil pieces of turtle/tortoise shell that look very similar to your first piece.

Marine Mammals have porous bones because they are lighter ... so whale, dolphin, and even sea turtles ,  which admittedly are not mammals..

So when you get down to little pieces, they are not identifiable ...  Mostl likely tortoise shell..

The White Queen  ".... in her youth she could believe "six impossible things before breakfast"

40 minutes ago, ted coulianos said:

Without age, location, formation etc etc,  specimen is so fragmentary that no positive id can be made other than "nondescript bone"

Tombigbee River is the location, age is what I’m looking for along with what type of bone. 

I don't think there is enough there to say more than bone chunk, indeterminate.

We tend to jokingly call these chunk-o-saurs, or chunk-o-theres.

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER