Cleaning & Extracting

grommit

We found some of our first fossils the other day.

Some were nicely presented shells in rock.

Others were ammonite sections, about 20-30 degrees of arc of about 1 ft diameter circle.

All we can see are the telltale bumps and shape.

It almost seems like a rock cast into the proper shape.

For all I know, it is a nice piece under 5 mm layer of rock/dirt.

How could I start to clean this? Does anybody ever chisel these? Or is soaking / acid baths better?

Thanks,

Grommit.

Guest Nicholas

I suggest you post a picture of it to see what we're dealing with. I personally prefer slowly grinding away the rock with a rotary tool such as a dremel. Depending on the type of rock sometimes soaking in just water can soften it and make things a whole bunch easier. I'm new to prepping but we have some pros on the site that may be able to help.

The type of matrix, and the composition of the fossil are important. If the matrix is limestone, and the fossil is silica, extraction is simplified, versus both limestone.

Brent Ashcraft

ashcraft, brent allen

The type of matrix, and the composition of the fossil are important. If the matrix is limestone, and the fossil is silica, extraction is simplified, versus both limestone.

Brent Ashcraft

The older pictures are posted in the "Help identifying" section, under title that is something like "Newbies first find".

The ammonites are what I am really interested in extracting. The older finds appear to be encased in really hard dry mud.

We went to my younger sons school today, and pulled out several from the area.

The older one found one that has interesting exposed sections, and a large snail (conch?)

Pictures from today attached. I'd be happy with any/all advice as to how to start.

post-381-1208573702_thumb.jpg exposed section

post-381-1208573819_thumb.jpg nice snail type thing.

post-381-1208573911_thumb.jpg same as #1

post-381-1208573964_thumb.jpg different, but lots of detail

Grommit