Fossil Cleaning

rod

This may be a stupid question, but I am new to fossils and dont want to mess them up.

while searching a lime quarry in North Mississippi, We found these shells. How do I go about removing the lime / limestone from them?

post-3453-007107600 1277848291_thumb.jpg

post-3453-059257500 1277848336_thumb.jpg

post-3453-057772800 1277848398_thumb.jpg

- ROD

Hello Rod,

First, try soaking them in soap and warm water.

Then, if that's not cutting it, you can try soaking them in plain white vinegar.( I would try on one specimen first, and see how that works out. )

If that still isn't making a dent, you could try diluted muriatic acid - But,... use this with caution and in a well ventilated area!

Sometimes, you can also just chip the matrix off with a small dental pick, or wire brush. Try this on poor quality fossils, though, to see what it will do. You do not want to be testing on your best specimens.

Another thing you can try is air abrasives. This can be a bit more involved and pricey, but West4me just posted a neat HOW TO for a portable cabinet that you should check out.

http://www.thefossilforum.com/index.php?showtopic=14043

By the way there are no such things as stupid questions,...- we are all here to learn.:)

Hope this helps a little.

Regards,

Edited by Fossildude19

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png    VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015       MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg        IPFOTM -- MAY - 2024   IPFOTM5.png.fb4f2a268e315c58c5980ed865b39e1f.png

_________________________________________________________________________________
"In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks."

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

This may be a stupid question, but I am new to fossils and dont want to mess them up.