Wafflero27

Posted (edited)

Hi everyone! Just wanted to share my new trilobite and see if anybody can help me identify what species of (what I believe is) Zlichovaspis this ~3inch specimen belongs to.

Seller mentioned the location as Atchana, Morocco, and the specimen listed as Zlichovaspis. I am wondering if it is really a Zlichovaspis rugosa, as I have been comparing images and I have a feeling this one has a more prolonged anterior process and the pygidial spine seems to be proportionally larger IMO. Another thing that throws me off a bit is that there are many tiny bumps/pustules covering almost the entirety of the axial and pleural lobes, although in my opinion it looks that they blew off many during the preparation (they look like “flat” spots). Please pardon my poor attempt at describing the anatomy of my trilobite. I’m new in this hobby and I’m trying to learn the basics. 

I would appreciate any comments on the ID as well as on your overall opinions on the specimen (from a collectors perspective). I am very happy with it! 

IMG_0855.jpeg

IMG_0854.jpeg

IMG_0856.jpeg

IMG_0857.jpeg

IMG_0858.jpeg

IMG_0860.jpeg

IMG_0864.jpeg

Edited by Wafflero27
Forgot to mention specimen size
  • Enjoyed 1

Did this happen to come from a Russian seller?

• Thank You 1

1 minute ago, Newbie_1971 said:

Did this happen to come from a Russian seller?

I dont think so. They are based in the U.S. and this was listed as a Moroccan trilobite (Atchana). Their other listings are all moroccan trilobites.

• Enjoyed 1

I believe you're right,iand believe it is a trilobite Zlichovaspis fossil Devonian.... but I could be wrong. It is a nice specimen though!

• Thank You 1