Odd Rocks

Found these softball-sized rocks in a small creek at 800’ elev in southern Indiana.  There are no exposed layers and these were found about 100’ below and downstream from a deposit of glacial till. Sorry, can’t give more help on the layer.

When I pulled them out of the water, the rocks had these small bits attached but I wiped most away before I realized they were fossils in situ.  I saved some and got these pics (sorry about the poor quality, I’m still learning how to light and shoot).  They measure 1/2 “ in length.

My guess is Eurypterids because of the segmented bodies and two paddle-like appendages near the head.  There’s one photo where I caught the front of the critter and you can see the mouth opening.  Look at the bottom of the pic.

If you have any tips for how to light and background specimens for photographing, please point me in the right direction.

IMG_3270.jpeg

2024-06-25-21-24-52-479.jpeg

2024-06-25-21-22-47-174.jpeg

2024-06-25-21-04-34-623.jpeg

IMG_3269.jpeg

2024-06-25-21-11-31-949.jpeg

2024-06-25-21-18-55-341.jpeg

2024-06-25-21-19-08-458.jpeg

2024-06-25-21-07-48-378.jpeg

image.jpg

Edited by Odd Rocks

Not fossils but the aquatic insects known as caddisflies (Trichopterans) and the cases they create.

• Enjoyed 1
  • I Agree 4

And these are the shells left behind after the larvae stage?  Guess that mouth opening isn’t a mouth after all.

Thank you Thomas.

They secrete a glue that sticks a bunch of pebbles, rocks and sand together, during their larval stage.
It protects their soft bodies.

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png    VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015       MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg        IPFOTM -- MAY - 2024   IPFOTM5.png.fb4f2a268e315c58c5980ed865b39e1f.png