Tips for hunting mahatango trilobites in Central PA

flish

• New Members

I am new to hunting for Devonian fossils. I've had a little success at a well-known site in Schuylkill County. By little, I mean I found one trilobite. It's got me kind of hooked. 

I was talking about this new interest with a family friend who promptly told me that they have property in Perry County and they keep finding "little seashells in rock" in the creek that runs through it. I showed my friend pictures of brachiopods they we're very excited and said that's what they were finding. 

I used the app Rockd and indeed their property sits dead in the center of the Mahatango formation. This is very exciting news for me because I've been informed I'm allowed to go whenever I want. 

When I was looking at the site in Schuylkill County, it seemed as though people had been there a lot and I was looking through their scraps. That's how I found my trilobite. I don't actually know how to hunt this formation though. I generally surface hunt at Calvert Cliffs for shark teeth and other Marine fossils from the Miocene. The site that I've gone to with Devonian fossils is all of 40 square feet wide. There are no tricks or secrets to hunting there I don't think. 

Do you have any advice for me as I try to unlock the mysteries at the site? I have sifters of all kinds and a hammer with a chisel on the back of it that was recommended for hunting Devonian sites. I've never used the chisel to find a fossil though. I'm assuming I'm looking for the gray rock that breaks really easily that I see at my other site but that's all I know to look for. Well that and brachiopods. 

Thanks for any and all guidance. 

Welcome to TFF from Austria!

Now you have a fossil site for your own! Congrats!

1. Take your time.

2. Examine every rock in the creek, at the banks of the creek and every other rock. Turn every rock around and look closely.