Macraster echinoid grab from unexplored creek section

Shaun-DFW Fossils

On July 2, I had a 1.5 hour break in the afternoon and I had the itch (okay it’s a constant itch) to run down the street to a local Johnson County, Texas creek that I’ve been hunting for the last 18 months. It’s my favorite and most productive creek. I’m convinced all of the Texas fossil hunters are north of interstate 20 or west of Benbrook Lake (half joking).

the area is considered “undivided,” with some Main Street limestone, Fort Worth formation, and duck creek present, depending on exact location. The section of the creek I visited is a little tougher to access due to the bank steepness and narrow shoulder of the crossroad. But I managed it, and I was not disappointed. 
you may notice I hunt the lower eagle ford/upper woodbine occasionally, but in my experience, the heavy rains expose a LOT more more quickly with the “softer” Fort Worth formation exposures. 
I found 2 creek-worn mortoniceras ammonites fairly quickly, one missing the center but the other one looking fairly decent at 7-inches diameter (post-hunt photo attached). I then came across the blue-gray clay and white limestone I wanted. Very few ammonites, though I did grab a couple of smaller “fair” condition mortoniceras ammonites, but it was a macraster marathon, and 95% were pristine with complete shell, very little matrix, and spine nodes all over. I looked down and realized I was growing spine nodes. Wait, no I had a brief chill from excitement. Okay, lying..it was 98 degrees and I was sweating like a pig. But you could imagine..still excited. 
I only found one holaster echinoid, but it’s in good shape. My favorite macraster is the one that looks perfect, but it has each side blown out/crushed partially, leaving the entire shape intact except for what look like two vertical vents. Such a neat preservation of an object impacted by a brief moment of force under water.