Jaw Bone ID

NBRiley

• New Members

Hi y'all,

I know this isn't terribly old, but I found this jaw bone while poking around in a creek south of Dallas that runs into the Trinity River. I had actually been trying to find old bottles (unsuccessfully), but stumbled across this sitting in the gravel bed. I couldn't believe my eyes!  I was thinking it was gator, but I was hoping that someone might be able to help confirm or disprove my suspicion. The bone is about 8 inches/ 20 cm long.  Let me know if more info is needed and thanks in advance!

in situ.jpg

jaw1.jpg

jaw2.jpg

jaw3.jpg

jaw4.jpg

• Enjoyed 2

One of the key indications that cause me to think so is the pointedness of the rear teeth. I'm not an expert at it though so wait for more opinions. 

I'm thinking something like an alligator gar.  See B below:

image.png.6b3c97552d4a5a6891d688e16d434e9f.png

Edited by Fin Lover
Added photo
  • I found this Informative 2
  • Thank You 1
  • I Agree 7

Fin Lover

image.png.e69a5608098eeb4cd7d1fc5feb4dad1e.png image.png.e6c66193c1b85b1b775526eb958f72df.png image.png.65903ff624a908a6c80f4d36d6ff8260.png

image.png.7cefa5ccc279142681efa4b7984dc6cb.png

1 minute ago, Fin Lover said:

I'm thinking something like an alligator gar.

I agree, Alligator Gar (Atractosteus spatula) and the rest of the gar species of the genus Atractosteus have a double row of teeth instead of a single row for Lepisosteus gars.

• Thank You 1

45 minutes ago, NBRiley said:

Hi y'all,

I know this isn't terribly old, but I found this jaw bone while poking around in a creek south of Dallas that runs into the Trinity River. I had actually been trying to find old bottles (unsuccessfully), but stumbled across this sitting in the gravel bed. I couldn't believe my eyes!  I was thinking it was gator, but I was hoping that someone might be able to help confirm or disprove my suspicion. The bone is about 8 inches/ 20 cm long.  Let me know if more info is needed and thanks in advance!

in situ.jpg