Devonian (?) mystery fossil - Lake Michigan

J Belian

• New Members

Hello. I spend a month every year in Leelanau County, Michigan, USA (the tip of the pinky of the mitten), where fossils are lying all over the place. Some I can ID, some I can’t, no big deal, but this one is making me nuts. It is such a distinctive shape, and these appear frequently n basalt rocks that have tumbled to shore. A local rock shop owner said it was a horn coral - and perhaps it is, but I’m not yet persuaded (but always open to facts). 

I am not even remotely a scientist- I’m a law professor - but I have tried to follow instructions as best I could. If anyone needs a different view or a retake, please just say so and I will oblige. The rock is very much not flat, so focus is tricky. 

The rock was found in the western shore of Leelanau County. It is dark gray (black when wet - probably basalt) and the fossil or fossil imprint is nearly white. I’ve seen dozens of these white things measuring about 2-3cm long, but this one is roughly 6cm by 3cm wide and appears to be about 1cm thick, though that’s harder to tell. I can see striations in the impression that remind me of perhaps a coral, perhaps a jellyfish-sort of thing. 

I’ve taken the best photos I could, in different lighting, but if these are too shabby, I can ask a photographer friend to haul out the big guns. I’ve also taken a couple with the stone wet, to show what they look like on the shoreline. In addition, I took photos of some other fossils embedded in the same rock in case those contextual clues help. Each of those is about 1.5cm long. It almost looks as if someone tried to chip the fossil out, but that seems unlikely, given its location.