Reconstructing Globidens in the Ozan formation, Campanian

Ekhyl

• New Members

Hi everyone !

This is my first post here so first of all I'll introduce myself : my name is Nathan Dehaut, I'm a herpetology researcher, fossil collector and paleoillustrator living in France.

I recently got the chance to create an illustration for a new publication on Globidens remains found in the Ozan formation of Texas (New remains of the mosasaur Globidens alabamaensis from the North Sulphur River of Texas, Rempert et al., 2024).

This reconstruction includes several molluscs species that can be found in the Ozan (notably in the North Sulfur River) such as the ammonites Baculites, Pachydiscus and Scaphites, and the bivalve Exogyra and Inoceramus. The environment was reconstructed as an oyster reef.

Let me know if you have any questions/comments !

Nathan

globidens4.3.jpg

Edited by Ekhyl
  • Enjoyed 12
  • Thank You 1

Welcome to the Forum. :)

Nice work.

Is there evidence that these creatures were so bulky?

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png    VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015       MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg        IPFOTM -- MAY - 2024   IPFOTM5.png.fb4f2a268e315c58c5980ed865b39e1f.png

_________________________________________________________________________________
"In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks."

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

• New Members
7 minutes ago, Fossildude19 said:

Welcome to the Forum. :)

Nice work.

Is there evidence that these creatures were so bulky?

Thanks!

Not that I'm aware of, skeletal remains are far and few between and post-cranial even more so.