Mud removal Question... fragile dino bones...

Alberta_Cretaceous

I'm dealing with dried mud on fragile dinosaur bones.

Do I treat with butvar b-76 first, or get the mud off first?

The bones are at home now. If I scrub the mud off first, then there's a chance the bone can crumble in my hand.

If i soak it in butvar b-76 first, won't the mud get solidified/plastically and not come off then?

I am new to this.

• Fossildude19 changed the title to Mud removal Question... fragile dino bones...

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png    VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015       MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg        IPFOTM -- MAY - 2024   IPFOTM5.png.fb4f2a268e315c58c5980ed865b39e1f.png

_________________________________________________________________________________
"In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks."

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

Photos and more info would help a lot here.  BUT, with the info we have.... I'm assuming that at least some of the fossil is showing, so you know you have a fossil.  You can very gently brush and blow away loose "mud" from whats exposed, and put a liberal amount of consolidant on that.  It will soak deeper into the bone a little bit.  Then carefully expose more, and keep applying as you go.  Any matrix that gets glued to the bone can be removed later, after the entire specimen is exposed and solidified.

• I found this Informative 1
  • Enjoyed 1

Professional fossil preparation services at Red Dirt Fossils, LLC.  https://reddirtfossils.com/

1 hour ago, hadrosauridae said: