Gravel Beds - "butter Zone"

Megalodon_hunter

Let me preface this with.. I am a complete Amateur with minimal college or self education in paleontology. I am complete Noob.

However I approach everything I do some seriousness.

That said.......

I am trying a couple experiments in sifting and excavation. I believe there is a "Butter Zone" a specific depth that sediments of specific size and weight will settle. I am going to try to dig a specific depth over a specific area using a systematic approach.

To determine where fossils are more likely to settle in a gravel bed.

I am returning to Peace River for a third attempt this year to uncover Megalodon, Mako and anything else that I find. I've had alot of

luck with requiems.. Sheesh I have over 250 of em from a single trip.

"One of these day's I'm going to find a tooth over 3inches."

You already know where the requiems congregate; time to go for the big boys :)

I spent 15 years trying to figure out the sorting dynamics of the tidal Potomac at Virginia's Calvert exposures, and concluded that my lucky socks (being the ones I happened to be wearing when I did well) had more to do with it there. That was a much more dynamic environment, though, than a non-tidal river, so your efforts might pay off.

"Dig deep", I always say.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I am trying a couple experiments in sifting and excavation. I believe there is a "Butter Zone" a specific depth that sediments of specific size and weight will settle. I am going to try to dig a specific depth over a specific area using a systematic approach.