Trilobites - Fake Or The Real Deal?

Bernt

Hello.

I'm new to fossils, and I've read that most of the Trilobites from Morocco are fake. However, this one looks authentic to me, mostly because of the eye lenses:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270664181365&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_2269wt_948

What are your opinion?

I also considering to bid on these two guys:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280589651993&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_2932wt_948

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270664178166&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_2286wt_948

What do you think? Does they seem to be OK? I know this is hard to tell just from photos, but hopefully some of you can give me some advices.

- Bernt -

I know exactly what you mean. At my work we have a fakey from Morocco. What they did was they made a "mold" of the original fossil and filled it in with a stoney material they can put on a rock. Then they paint the trilobite and carve the designs Moroccan fossils are known for onto the rock. Some are fake and some are real. Real Moroccan trilobites are very beautiful though! I really feel yours are real.

They all look genuine to me; I would ask as to the extent of the repairs on the Moroccan Phacops, though.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I agree with fossisle and Auspex on these.

Although they aren't the best specimens you might be able to get them for fairly reasonable prices.

Good Luck!!!

Dan

Edited by palaeopix