Please Identify Fossil

mdd

• New Members

my dad found this lava rock 35 years ago somewhere around los angeles, ca. it has a large something in it which what looks a lot like a bone running thru it and out both ends. after 35 years of it sitting around i would like to know what it is. any advise from anyone what it is or how i go about finding out.

post-4520-020113100 1291089479_thumb.jpg

Im not a fossil expert, more of a rockhound. But there is alot of experts on here that can help more. But To me it looks to be [basalt] lava as you said. But if you post a couple more photos of the top and back side, that would help. Also google "Pahoehoe" and click images and you'll see what Im thinking. But I hope some new photos prove me wrong.

• New Members

Im not a fossil expert, more of a rockhound. But there is alot of experts on here that can help more. But To me it looks to be [basalt] lava as you said. But if you post a couple more photos of the top and back side, that would help. Also google "Pahoehoe" and click images and you'll see what Im thinking. But I hope some new photos prove me wrong.

thank you for your response. here is another picture from a different angle.post-4520-064028700 1291104746_thumb.jpg

Yeah - the cross-section in the last photo is very bone-ish. Ive seen a lot of whale bone with similar internal structure.

CBK

• New Members

Yeah - the cross-section in the last photo is very bone-ish. Ive seen a lot of whale bone with similar internal structure.

CBK

i was mistaken on the location this was found. it was found south of lone pine, ca. at a place called little lakes. could it still be a bone and how old may it be.post-4520-023060000 1291153288_thumb.jpgpost-4520-023060000 1291153288_thumb.jpg

Are we talking about Owens Valley here? If so, I don't think there are any "whale-age" rocks there; plenty of Permian to Triassic, though. This adds an interesting dimension...