Poor Newbie Needs Bone Prep Tips

Seattleguy

Hey all, I am new to the forum and semi new to collecting. I am a recent college grad, and while in school I got the fossil collecting bug. I am going to be getting a small number of un prepped dino bones pretty soon, and need some tips for prepping. I am not sure of the amount of prep work needed on the bones I will be getting, but the bug has bitten so I am sure I will be doing alot more prep work in the future.

For me now, the most readily available prep method would be a dremel tool. Would this work, or is it a no go for removing fossil matrix?

Also, does any one know a source for Vinac?

Does anyone also have a tested mixture ratio, Vinac: Acetone that has worked well?

Chris

• 8 months later...
Guest bmorefossil
It depends. What kind and how hard is the rock that your working in

learning how to prep takes time, just wanted to throw my little bit in there lol. It took me awhile before i learned how to work with the soft bones here we find along calvert cliffs, its not like they are dust but if you could scratch them

The process of exposing or freeing bones from the matrix will be totally dependent on the character of the material you are working with. Several threads on the Forum contain useful information.

Buried somewhere in the Forum archives is a particularly good thread about preserving fossil bones bones.

A lot of tricks, hard-won through collective years of experience, are discussed at length.

When I get a chance, I'll see if I can find it.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Guest solius symbiosus
For me now, the most readily available prep method would be a dremel tool. Would this work, or is it a no go for removing fossil matrix?