Giant Sequoia Lineage

neofelix

• New Members

I am looking for information on the evolution, past ranges and migration of the Giant Sequoia. Does anyone know of any recent information, studies, articles, graphs, maps, anything--- more recent than the regurgitated stuff from the late 1800's and 1951?

I would also be interested in stuff about the coast redwood evolution as it relates to the Giant sequoias.

I am NOT a fossil expert, so, I figured I would ask the 'experts' --- maybe I'm missing something. Thank you, in advance, for any help or references.

The monograph "A Revision of Fossil Sequoia and Taxodium in Western North America based on the recent discovery of Metasequoia" by Ralph Works Chaney is still considered at the top and is actually the reference currently in use at the UO paleontology department. At nearly 100 pages it is a fairly comprehensive text and bolstered by the fact that Chaney is responsible for bringing the Metasequoia to North America from China in 1948. Thanks to that effort the Metasequoia was successfully reintroduced to the Northwest and was officially named the state fossil of Oregon in 2005. Chaney resolved the taxonomic problem of middle Tertiary Sequoia fossils actually being Metasequoia as a result. To this day he remains one the true giants of paleobotany and I suspect there are not many folks willing to challenge his great works. If you have a chance to read through it a bit you will be thoroughly impressed. Fortunately Google books has it archived for free. I did source a recent text on the topic from Amazon although the price seems quite prohibitive and no way to determine how useful it is in comparison.

Good Luck with your research! :D

Chaney - Metasequoia

Amazon- Metasequoia

image.png.a84de26dad44fb03836a743755df237c.png

There are a few resources available, primarily about Metasequoia, on the Internet. Here are a few links to articles that might get you started: