In Over My Head On My First Day

hermesreborn

Hi everyone...i am brand new to fossil hunting and think i might have got over my head the first day.

anyways, i found a big block full of fossils at Hungry Hollow and intended to do some work to expose the fossils on top a bit better. A sort of experimental fossil to practice on. the problem is that i underestimated how many fossils are in it. I'm not talking ten or twenty...I'm talking tens of thousands...i have never seen anything like it, and i have no idea what to do with such an abundance of fossils all in one block.

is their a way to prep and display such a thing?....or should i just leave well enough alone?

post-5675-0-72586700-1304539969_thumb.jpg

When it comes to hash plates like yours I typically give them a good scrub and leave them as it. I find mortality plates with many species present are best displayed in that fashion. Yours is rather nice, and in my opinion best left as is :)

Welcome to the forum! :)

"Hash Plates" have a fascinating beauty far greater than the sum of their parts, and are best when simply cleaned and displayed. ;)

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

That's an awesome hash plate. I agree with the above. A good water wash and scrub with a toothbrush or something and you are good to go.

Or...take a dental pick, extract every fossil, measure, id, then put it all back together (exactly as it was, of course). :P

Really, awesome rock!

Steve

The only thing other than a good wash to enhance this specimen would be a good microblasting with a pretty mild abrasive to remove any matrix in the cracks and spaces between fossil material. This would make the piece a bit more 3 dimensional and make the fossils stand out. Great plate any which way!