Trilo

CreekCrawler

Hi there I was reading another thread about fake trilos and thought I'd post a few pics of the one I have.

I purchased it at a local reptile show from a kid who sells fossils while his dad sells snakes.

This was about 10-12 years ago. I tried the hot pin trick to see if there were some repairs and it seems solid.

Can one of you also ID this one for me.thanks for any input

post-417-1216329673_thumb.jpgpost-417-1216329703_thumb.jpg

Guest bmorefossil

im not good with trilobites so i cant help you with an id but i have a question. The trilo looks really shinny, does it have glue on it or something to make it shine?

im not good with trilobites so i cant help you with an id but i have a question. The trilo looks really shinny, does it have glue on it or something to make it shine?

Not sure bmore, it has had the shine since I bought it! I really don't know if the seller or preparer used something on it,but it is kinda shiny. I also used a flash if that matters.

thanks

Not sure bmore, it has had the shine since I bought it! I really don't know if the seller or preparer used something on it,but it is kinda shiny. I also used a flash if that matters.

thanks

yes i think its just the flash

From the photo you really can't tell. I look at the facets of the eyes. If it's a cast they are muddled... if it's a sculpture (which I don't think it is) the facets are non existant.

Ed

Hi there I was reading another thread about fake trilos and thought I'd post a few pics of the one I have.

I purchased it at a local reptile show from a kid who sells fossils while his dad sells snakes.

This was about 10-12 years ago. I tried the hot pin trick to see if there were some repairs and it seems solid.

Can one of you also ID this one for me.thanks for any input

post-417-1216329673_thumb.jpgpost-417-1216329703_thumb.jpg

Did the kid that sold it say anything about where it came from, etc.?