My First Fossil Hunt - Many Many Questions

Flinger

Hello all. I just joined the site. I live in central Mississippi and I am a fossil newbie. I asked on this board where I should start and one of the suggestions was to start with our Museum of Natural History. I got in touch with the curator of paleontology and he told me about an extinct quarry not too far from my house that had early oligocene marine macro-invertabrates. So I went and scoped out the place and took pictures. I am hoping you could take a look at the images and the questions associated with them and give me some pointers. I'll number the images and then ask my questions below.

Image 1

post-6520-0-62148400-1313032651_thumb.jpg

Image 2

post-6520-0-92304200-1313032672_thumb.jpg

Image 3

post-6520-0-58618300-1313032750_thumb.jpg

Image 4

post-6520-0-99441700-1313032761_thumb.jpg

Image 5

post-6520-0-98897300-1313032817_thumb.jpg

Image 6

post-6520-0-25640700-1313032863_thumb.jpg

Image 7

post-6520-0-53543100-1313032874_thumb.jpg

Image 8

post-6520-0-47917600-1313032911_thumb.jpg

Image 9

post-6520-0-93022400-1313032927_thumb.jpg

Explanation and Questions-

Would you guys mind IDing the types of rocks in the images?

Images 1 and 2 - I found an area which had features I had imagined that I was looking for. Basically a sloping wall of crumbly sedimentary rock. What I don't really understand is why there are big spongy looking boulders on top of the slope. They seem to be out of place. Is this a bad sign that I am not in a good area? Should I ignore the spongy rocks and stick to the crumbly sedimentary looking slope?

Image 3 - Holy Jeebus this rock was hard. You can probably see the little light colored dots on the rock where I tired to whack it with my hammer. I barely scratched the surface. Please tell me this isn't the type of rock I'm supposed to be looking in?