Recommendations For A "geology" Book

sward

I am new to geology and fossil hunting. I would like to find a good book that will help me understand the geology better, particularly of North Texas. But, I realize the book may not be specific to North Texas.

I have many of the geological maps and can use them "somewhat effectively" to determine what formation I'm in. What I feel I need help with is determining the different types of outcrops I find and their compositions. I read the different defintions such as "marl, brownish clays, flaggy sandstones" and don't really know what to look for.

I would like to find a book that may show color photos of these different materials so I can better understand what I'm looking at in an outcrop. The attached photo shows one of the outcrops that I found nautilus and plesioturrilites in. I was asked in one of the other forum categories about the outcrop and the distinct contrast in it. As you can tell, the bottom layers are solid rock (gray), while the top portion (brown) is composed of small rocks tighly embedded together. I would like to be able to better understand these different layers.

Any recommendations regarding a book that may help me to learn more about this will be very much appreciated. And, as usual, thanks for all of your help.

BRGDS,

sward

DFW, TX

post-6450-0-08373500-1313502152_thumb.jpg

post-6450-0-50852200-1313502193_thumb.jpg

SWard
Southeast Missouri

(formerly Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX)

USA

My recommendations as a starter kit for North Texas Geology would be.

1. A Earth Science or Physical geology lab manual or Audubon books. This will help you get used to IDing geologic formations on maps and other mechanics which can help you in the field.

2. Get the AAPG or some kind of geologic map of Texas

3. Finsley's field guide to fossils, great for beginners and experts then grow from there.

4. Roadside Geology guide of texas helps