Dinosaur 2 Egg Clutch: To Clean Or Not To Clean?

rkfrace

Hello. I am new to the Fossil Forum, so hello to each and all. I'm an avid, albeit neophyte, fossil enthusiast.

I'm about to purchase a really nice 2 egg clutch (ovaraptor; please see attached photo). My question: I have the option of having the white layer cleaned off in order to expose the black underneath, as is quite common (I would leave the red splotches of matrix in place because I think it looks nice that way). The person I'm buying it from, however, suggested that I consider NOT having him clean it because it takes away the more natural look {I trust the seller very much; he is not making this suggestion out of self-interest, and I would pay for the cleaning). Once the white layer is cleaned off it's gone forever.

In your experience, would you suggest keeping the white layer as is? I've always liked the black shell look, even though I generally prefer fossils to be in their 'natural' element.

Thank you very much for your time and assistance.

with best regards and gratitude,

Ryan

post-7013-0-72376500-1317260927_thumb.jpg

Ryan,

While I do not have much experience as to wether or not it is better to have the white layer on. I can tell you I think they look better with it on. This is just a personal preference but I do think as you said a more natural state would appeal to a larger crowd if you ever decided to sell.

Mike

I think you need to go out, find some red clay. Put the clay, in a display, in the shape of a nest...and......well I can imagine it, looks great! :)

Hey Ryan,