Glue Question

Maniraptoran

Depends on the fossil/matrix I guess.. I don't know the differences between Elmers and Weldbond, but I understand Weldbond to be essentially inert which is important with fossils in long term storage, and I've been using it for a few years so far with no problems. I imagine it will last as long as Elmers.

Good to have confirmation from others, thanks GD.

I guess the only drawback is if you want to undo it.. tho I never thought to try acetone as Harry says.

Edited by Wrangellian

I think what Harry was saying, is that when stabilizing the material, you usually use something like butvar dissolved in acetone. If the acetone is not dry, the glue will not hold, if you try to glue broken parts back together. I don't think that acetone has much affect on white glue once it is set.

ashcraft, brent allen

This thread and others discussing glues, stablizers and sealers makes me think it might be useful to consolidate all of the info we have about these tools into a single reference for easy access by those who've never needed to use them to visit when the occasion does arise. I understand not everyone may agree on every detail and maybe the forum is not an ideal place for reference resources but if someone with lots of experience on this could start a new topic which could be pinned and added to as new products become available or new applications are found it might save having to revisit old questions by someone who's unable to get answers with a search. This topic might even justify a whole new section in the same ways photography and documents have.

White glue will lose its adhesive quality in acetone. Make sure that the pieces of fossil are consolidated before you put them together with white glue.

what do you mean by consolidated?

what do you mean by consolidated?

Crumbly fossils are sometimes stablized by products like butvar like ashcraft mentioned. If your fossil is pretty solid this is not necessary.