Garnett,ks

st41lion

Hello, I am kinda new to recognizing and figuring out what layers of rock or shale to look in for certain types of fossils. I recently did a ton of research and found the fossil dig location in garnett Kansas. There are supposed to be scorpion,amphibian,fish and insect fossils in abundance at this location. We found many different types of shale and limestone layers here. We eassily located Crinoids,clams and tons of vegetation that were fossils. We were unable to locate any of the other fossils I mentioned bove. Can anyone help me with what type of rock or shale we should concentrate on for the fish and insect fossils. Could you please describe the layer and what it might look like ie... Color, thickness of layer,shale or limestone,etc. any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks BTW I have a 3 year old boy and 7 year old daughter who go with me on these trips and love the hunt as much as do. Thanks, John

I too am new to figuring out what strata I am in and which ones to expect which fossils in! I didn't realize you could find insect fossils in Kansas. I've never been to Garnett. Good luck! ;)

It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change.

Charles Darwin

Welcome to the site! I don't know which layer from which...but if you keep trying, you're bound to find something!

Check out this site:

http://www.windsofka...il_insects.html

Also,if you are up for a road trip, head west to the kansas chalks...castle rock, 15 miles south of quinter, is a pretty cool place to hunt and is open to the public. I took my two boys there and had a blast.

If you are interested, check out this site:

http://oceansofkansas.com/

if you have pics of your dig, others might be able to help with strata ID...

Edited by grokfish