Baculites With A Mosasaur Bite Mark?

mikeymig

I bought an ammonite collection a while back and in a box full of Baculites I found this specimen with a hole punched in it. To me it looks like a Mosasaur bite mark but Im not an expert on Ammonites of the Pierre Seaway and was hoping if a collector from Montana or Wyoming could help. There were no other specimens (40-50) in the collection that had a hole in it and I have never seen one on a Baculites just on big ammonites, but you may have. The specimen is 5" long and almost 2" wide.

Thanks

mikey

post-7129-0-84824800-1333911763_thumb.jpg

post-7129-0-81009900-1333911909_thumb.jpg

Edited by mikeymig

Many times I've wondered how much there is to know.  
led zeppelin

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png IPFOTM.png IPFOTM2.png IPFOTM3.png IPFOTM4.png IPFOTM5.png

If there is matching damage on the other side, it would strengthen the idea.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I will have to take a pic of that later and post it but it kinda looks like it has one but it isnt as well preserved as this side is.

led zeppelin

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png IPFOTM.png IPFOTM2.png IPFOTM3.png IPFOTM4.png IPFOTM5.png

I don't think it is a Mos. bite for this reason. I am sure that the jaw bite pressure is substantial and a little baculites compared to the size of a Mos. would have crushed it like an egg not just produced a hole----Tom

Grow Old Kicking And Screaming !!
"Don't Tread On Me"

X2^