Ridgetop, Tennessee

pahsophist

My partner and I have been vacationing in the Nashville area and we decided to go to the Ridgetop formation for a little fossil collecting. Since I'm a noob, I'd love some help in IDing these fossils. :)

This is the location at which we collected; it was by the side of Route 41:

DSCN0538.jpg

Crinoid stem?

IMAG0512.jpg

Another crinoid stem.

IMAG0541.jpg

Not sure. Crinoid?

IMAG0514.jpg

Coral?

IMAG0528.jpg

Not sure what kind of shell. Some kind of mollusk?

IMAG0535.jpg

Oyster-like mollusk?

IMAG0534.jpg

Not sure.

IMAG0540.jpg

Brachiopods?

IMAG0537.jpg

IMAG0527.jpg

IMAG0519.jpg

IMAG0518.jpg

Thanks, everyone!

forth pic is a nice example of trace fossil. The 'oyster-like mollusk is more likely an inarticulate brach,and the 'not sure' is a pecten. The age of the formation will help in nailing down a genus. The coral is indeed a rugose or horn coral.

I did some research on the age and it will depend on how close to Nashville you are..the closer to Nashville you get the more Ordovician the sediments are, theres a thin strip of Silurian and the two Mississippian formations from Ridgetop north; which with the productid brachs is most likely. In which case the inarticulate is most likely Orbiculoidea, the horn coral either Zaphrentis or Neozaphrentis, and the pecten most likely Limipecten.

Thanks! Yes, I was understanding that the local area contained Ordivician and some Silurian, but I had no idea where precisely we were collecting from. There was a dearth of information I could find. I couldn't even find Ridgetop! We were in the Ridgetop area but finally decided to pull over and collect from Route 41 because nobody in the local area seemed to know much of what we were talking about (and the directions were poor).