Amateur Fossil Hunter: Improving The Likelihood Of Finding Something.

Sharpie443

I'm a very amateur fossil hunter. I posted a video on her a while back of some of my findings in the fossil bed just across the street from my family farm. I find the Devonian period fossils in a small stream that runs down into a valley there. The bigger fossil covered stones i find in the stream and at the bottom there is an area full of gravel where the stream turns into the valley. All of the smaller fossils get deposited there.

I'm going out to the farm for three days and I have a few questions before I go. I know very litle about fossil hunting and it's probably a fluke that i find the stuff that I do, so I would like to improve my chances.

1.) Should I take a chisel to split rocks? I know what the rocks look like that contains fossils but sometimes they don't have anything on the surface or just something poking out. I was wondering if I should attempt to break the rock to see what is inside.

2.) It's not easy to find the fossils there. The whole stream and gravel bed is protected from the sun by the forest so you don't get a lot of light. Any tips on spotting the fossils or rocks that might contain them. I'm kind of self-trained to spot the greenish gray rocks that I find the indentations and shells in but I see people saying to look for black rocks for trilobites.

3.) Should i be digging stuff up. All the years I’ve been looking there I've only looked at rocks and gravel on the surface. I don't have any way to get mud off the rocks especially when the stream is just a trickle like it is now. So I don’t know how effective that would be.

Any tips you have would be appreciated.

Here is the video i posted before if you want to see what i've been finding so far.

[media=]

[/media]

www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Geg6zcz8p8

Edited by Sharpie443

Hope I can help with answers....