Tools For Hunting At Whiskey Bridge Locality Near Byran Texas.

davidds

I am very new to fossil hunting. What are the best tools for hunting at the Whiskey Bridge

locality near Bryan Texas? My research so far indicates gardening type tools are the

best. But what type of sieve (if any) is needed? Right now I only have a 1/4" sieve

and I don't know if this is the right size. Thanks.

You do not need a sieve. You will either be picking thru loose granular talus or you will be digging into the bank itself. The matrix is mostly unconsolidated. Folks do well with anything from a butter knife to a screwdriver. I have used my pocket knife as well as a very small pointed trowel. Probably more important is having lots of small containers and some tissue to put stuff in and protect it. The fossils are mostly small and delicate. Forceps and a magnifier are nice to have along. The rest is all comfort: hat, sunscreen, water, etc.

People get over rambunctious there and dig with shovels or their rock picks. They move a lot of material (from which I have found fossils later). But you only need to dig a small distance (inches) into the bank to find fresh fossils.

I'm sure others will have their own opinions on how to get good stuff there. And once you visit once or twice you'll refine your own kit.

Good luck.

• I found this Informative 1

• 2 weeks later...

Any small digging tool will work.

"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence"_ Carl Sagen

No trees were killed in this posting......however, many innocent electrons were diverted from where they originally intended to go.

" I think, therefore I collect fossils." _ Me

"When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."__S. Holmes

"can't we all just get along?" Jack Nicholson from Mars Attacks

• 2 weeks later...

i like a hand trowel and knife too. buckets for bulk sampling are an asset.

Grüße,

Daniel A. Wöhr aus Südtexas

"To the motivated go the spoils."