Arkona Trip

Cormoran2

I am a total newbie in fossil collection. I live a couple of hours away from Arkona Ontario, and would like to visit that site. I would prefer to do so when other collectors are present for orientation purposes. Does anyone know of anything planned in the next couple of weeks?

My plans are to go there this week, Wednesday maybe. I am completely new at this. Any tips or advice as to where to go exactly ? Are permissions required ?

No permissions are needed. I'm at work, so I can't spend the time to type all the pertinent info, but do a search on the forum for Arkona. Directions, formation info, collecting spots etc. have all been posted before

• I found this Informative 1

There's no limit to what you can accomplish when you're supposed to be doing something else

• 2 months later...

Did you get out to Arkona, Cormoran?

If you want the ten cent tour, I can show you around, live 15 minutes away.

Too hot now, I'd suggest waiting for cooler weather, it'd be an oven in there by 9 AM, and buggy.

Not yet Blastoid. A major summer project (moving to Ottawa) has taken up much of our time and attention.

I have been in contact with another member of this forum (Lmacfadden) from Arkona who has also very kindly offered to guide us (my wife and I) whenever we can go, but the project has been on hold since then because of the changes in our summer agenda.

But we will be home (Stoney Point on Lake St-Clair) for a few weeks so when the heat subsides, we were planning to do the trip. Our daughter is visiting, so there could be 3 of us going. I have not yet made plans with the other member, but when I have done that I will inform you in case you would be interested in joining us.

Thank you so much for your invitation.

A 10 cent tour at Arkona would be worth $100 anywhere else. That place is fantastic.

Don

And collecting remains superb.