How Fake Are These Moroccan Starfish?

juliangeorgeshaw

• New Members

I'm a fossil noob. I bought this off ebay before I found this excellent forum. It is supposed to be from Mt. El Kissan in southern Morocco. In your opinion, how fake is it? Totally genuine? Genuine except for scribed and colored extensions to the arms? Or totally fake?

post-12564-0-44856600-1374275198_thumb.jpg

I'm sorry to say, but I'd put my money on totally fake. The arrangement is too 'ideal', and the structure and symmetry of the details are suspect. But still, I'd like to be wrong. Could you get a closer image?

Context is critical.

• New Members

I'm sorry to say, but I'd put my money on totally fake. The arrangement is too 'ideal', and the structure and symmetry of the details are suspect. But still, I'd like to be wrong. Could you get a closer image?

Thanks Missourian. Is this close enough?

post-12564-0-64370500-1374278126_thumb.jpg

Unfortunately if I hear the word "Moroccan" I automatically assume fake until proven otherwise.

Ramo

For one species to mourn the death of another is a new thing under the sun.
-Aldo Leopold

I then to agree that this one is fake. I have seen quite a bit of these both fake and real. Here is one I purchased that I know it real. Notice the difference. Much harder to fake fine detail vs the larger detail on your specimen. Is the surface of the star smooth or rough. Rough is better. Smooth is definitely fake.

http://www.crinus.info/echinoderm/data/prot2.htm

crinus