Crab From Heck !

RJB

Hey everyone. I thought Id show you just how tuff this prepping fossils can be! That last crab I posted was in some purdy soft rock, as rock goes. This crab that I started today, (same species of crab) is in much much harder rock!!! That last crab took maybe 12 to 14 hours to prep, But this crab as you see it now, already has almost 8 hours into it already and a very long ways to go! Not only that, but if you look at the hole where I prepped inwards to find a claw, (to figure out what was dorsal/ventral) I ran into a hollow spot and had to fill it with glue, TWICE!!! Then I let it dry for days, TWICE!!! And to top all that off, there is a layer of white calcite between the shell material and the rock. I dont know if thats good or not, yet, but with the smaller crabs that ive done and found this layer of calcite, it usually means a quality crab is comin your way? I can hope. I havent prepped out too many of these, so im still learning. Im having to litteraly wear off that damed calcite by holding my air scribe at a sharp angle and do the best I can. Im hoping the air abrasive unit will clean it up purty good? The good thing is that there seems to be 3 legs on the crabs righthand side and all 4 on the left, plus, there is lots of rock on both sides, so there should be lots of leg? I will do more work on this thing for the next 3 days or so and try to get it finished and show you my progress from day to day!!! WooooooHoooooooo!!!!!! Everybody stand back!!! I dont want anyone getting hurt with all the dust and dirt, elbows and tools that start flyin when I prep!!! YeeeeeeeeeeeeeHaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!

The really good thing was,,,,, It was a balmy 38 degrees today and tomorrow will be 40!!! Its nice to not have to thaw out my equipment before i start to prep.

RB

i'm thinkin' it would have been easier to just cut the crab away from the rock instead of cutting the rock away from the crab.