Animal, Vegetable, Or Mineral?

Pristiformes

Okay, tune up your visual observation and comparitive anatomy skills, 'cause I have a challenging one for y'all. I don't have a southern accent as I grew up a NYer, but enjoy an occasional "y'all" as much as the next guy.

What the Hulk is this thing? I found this last Sunday when Mike (Worthy55) and I hunted a Gainesville creek. I sieved this bad dog out of some gravel, but don't know what it is. It seems like it's not bone, but it's heavy like its mineralized. Looks most like a split open nut or seed of some kind.

It measures 30 mm long by 12 mm wide. It has a flat side and a rounded side, as the photos show. The texture is fairly smooth on all sides.

Any ideas? I need some defining term to write on my collection label.

Thanks in advance!

Jason

post-1000-1229030319_thumb.jpg

post-1000-1229030329_thumb.jpg

As I am just an amateur I don't think I could make a great guess but I remember seeing a picture a little while ago that looked similar to that and it was a sturgeon scute. I have no idea if that is it but I'll just go ahead and throw that idea in there.

I think it may be a hyperostotic ("Tilly") bone from a fish.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

hmm, auriculatus, what it is?

to me it doesn't seem like a seed or nut. i think it's like a split half of a fossilized poop from a fish which was fed exclusively finely ground bone meal.

whatever it is, it's something.

i had no luck at all googling what auspex said it might be. just got some pictures of weirdnesses.