What To Do With Fossil...?

wooziebobus

Hey guys, I am new to finding fossils as I unexpectedly found some mammalian jawbone along the Thames River.

I am just curious, what's the typical procedure for finding a fossil?
IDing would be a first step I imagine, and I posted a topic in the ID forum.

My ultimate question is if there is a way to make monetary profit off of it (get it valued if it is a signficant find) or donate it to a museum, and what the pros and cons of each decision are. (or, as a third alternative, to just keep it. but then do you need to clean it up or take other measure...?)

I appreciate the advice you can give me.

It depends on who you ask, many people have different views on the subject... I never sale or think about monetary value when it comes to fossils, in my opinion when you do this just to make money that thrill of discovery goes away. If i do find something of scientific importance I donate it to the museums.

Edited by edd

" We're all puppets, I'm just a puppet who can see the strings. "

Wooziebobus, Find out how old your jawbone is. Is it actually fossilized? I know the butchers of old London used to dump their carcass into the Thames.

Dorensigbadges.JPG       

If it proves to be of scientific significance, and you don't really care to 'curate' it, a museum may be willing to accept it (these institutions have to weigh their not insignificant cost of perpetual curation against whether they need it in their collection).

If it is to be kept (by you or a museum), preservation of old, water-logged bone begins by causing it to dry out as slowly as possible.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!