Places In Florida That Arent Picked Over!

wunderkammer

Hi everyone! im new to fossiling but have been reading up on it alot lately. looking to do some searching at the rivers and creeks here in florida but i'd like to know which places arent entirely picked over yet? or are there just copious amounts of fossils everwhere here?

almost any where there is construction or road work in Florida there will be fossils.

"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence"_ Carl Sagen

No trees were killed in this posting......however, many innocent electrons were diverted from where they originally intended to go.

" I think, therefore I collect fossils." _ Me

"When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."__S. Holmes

"can't we all just get along?" Jack Nicholson from Mars Attacks

You're in a great place for fossils from creeks, the beach, the canals and the quarries. I wouldn't say that fossils are common as fallen leaves, but depending on how you want to work and what you would be interested in finding, you should do alright. Start by going where other people go......you will find fossils. Any creek in your county is a good start. Join a local club as well. They have field trips to places you may not get to alone. I was hoping to go to Zolfo Springs next week, but with this rain, looks like it will be mid October this year.

Good luck. And welcome to the forum.

Stevie Wonder could find fossils in Florida!

As long as you're not hoping for Mesozoic or Paleozoic material, it's hard not to :)

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

That's not an especially complimentary commentary on those of us who look for fossils in Florida Auspex, unless you're reflecting on our musical skills.