Sharkstooth Hunting 101

Dave Daniel AKA (Bones)

OK, Sharks tooth hunting 101. I only have two sharks teeth in my collection.

The little one, I know I found in S.E. Colorado. The larger one, I am not sure

if I found it, or it was given to me.

Can anyone ID them?

Since I have zero knowledge of sharks teeth, this screening thing sounds intriguing.

I always wondered how you guys came back with a bucket load of teeth.

Also, If I were to get a book on sharks teeth, would there be the same specie here

in Colorado as in anywhere else, or would I need to look for Colorado specific?

Could someone suggest a good publication to start with?

post-1026-1230827202_thumb.jpg

v = 0.25 * g0.5 * SL1.67 * h-1.17

The larger tooth is a megalodon, the smaller could be one of several types of sand tiger. It could also be a mackerel shark, such as Cretalamna appendiculata. Here is a link for you about mostly early Pennsylvanian sharks. I didn't check out each individual link in it, but it gives you an idea.

http://www.itano.net/fossils.htm

There are also sharks known from the Greenhorn Formation (Cretaceous) which I would think yours is likely from

The above quote is from the original thread. As for books, I don't know Colorado geology too well. You would be best to get either a general book on teeth or one such as "The collectors guide to fossil sharks and rays from the Cretaceous of Texas" (Welton and Farrish). The age would be appropriate and I'm sure some species could also be found in CO. I don't know of any specific to Colorado.

There's no limit to what you can accomplish when you're supposed to be doing something else

OK, Sharks tooth hunting 101. I only have two sharks teeth in my collection.

The little one, I know I found in S.E. Colorado. The larger one, I am not sure

if I found it, or it was given to me.

Can anyone ID them?

Since I have zero knowledge of sharks teeth, this screening thing sounds intriguing.