Tooth? Feels Like It Has Petrified.

Brandon24

Hi, I am a Comercial Roofer and we come along some interesting things when were are putting rock up on some of the roofs we do. one day I had found this tooth like thing. but i actually only found one piece. It was split in half so i went back in the area and ended up finding the other have to it. I am just curious on if its actually a tooth or something else. And if its a tooth what is it from?

post-14939-0-30810100-1396889342_thumb.jpg

That is a Bovine tooth. Sorry i can't be more help, but it's almost too hard to tell if it's a fossil from a pic.

Edited by fossilized6s

~Charlie~

"There are those that look at things the way they are, and ask why.....i dream of things that never were, and ask why not?" ~RFK
->Get your Mosasaur print
->How to spot a fake Trilobite
->How to identify a CONCRETION from a DINOSAUR EGG

Maybe you can do a bit of research and see what fossils are usually found around that area. It could be a Bos fossil tooth, but if Pleistocene fossils aren't usually found in that area it's probably an old Buffalo or Cow.

~Charlie~

"There are those that look at things the way they are, and ask why.....i dream of things that never were, and ask why not?" ~RFK

That looks like a fish jaw to me, but i could be wrong....

~Charlie~

Your first one looks to be a bison tooth. If it was found in gravel, there's a good chance it is ice age. The coloring/preservation would make me lean towards that.

I believe your second one is a snake jaw.

Thank you guys for the help! Im not sure where the tooth would come from. The rock that we put on the roofs is I think more of the river rock type. But not positive. We usually have a lot of agots in with the rock so it might be rock from Lake Surperior.

Any Ideas on this?

Fish gill raker, me thinks.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant