Corals From Late Devonian?

schoolaintsobad

Here are two pictures of the same item, one so you can see the entire specimen, and a close-up of the subject of my question.

I know the fossil on the left is a type of coral, but what about the one on the right that still has the "shell" with it? Is that coral, too, and can I successfully excise the piece from its surroundings without ruining it? We have millions of these in the creek, so it's not too big of a deal if I break it.

These are from a stream bed in northcentral PA. The entire piece is about 6" tall, and the left coral is about 1/2" across. The one on the right, with the shell, is about 1.5" long. My best guess is that this is from a part of the marine Lock Haven formation (Late Devonian). Please correct me if this is not likely... I'm still learning.

Thanks.

post-15208-0-47551300-1399403391_thumb.jpg

post-15208-0-10259700-1399403404_thumb.jpg

Edited by schoolaintsobad

'Tis indeed a horn coral. It looks like it might be silicified, and might come out without too much of a fight.

• I found this Informative 1

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Thanks, Auspex. I will find one that I don't like so much and give it a pry. Do you know if these are common? We have a lot of them around here.

Horn corals (or solitary rugose corals) are fairly common throughout much of the Paleozoic era.

That one is kind of neat, with it's own little display stand.

Regards,

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER