Rubbed A Fossil Off It's Rock :(

Jace

Hi Guys

I'm new to Fossils and while out looking through a new Shale layer on saturday i found a very beautiful little fossil ( what i believe to be a fossil )

It was about 1/2 inch long, jet black and looking like a plated fish or Yabbie( crayfish ) of some kind, it was between 2 layers of Shale i broke open.

It was only the back half of the creature.

Problem is.. when i looked closer there was dust coating the specimen so i slid my finger over the fossil to wipe the dust off and the fossil completely crumbled off the rock :(

Has this happened to anyone before? The Detail on the creature was amazing and im really devastated! it was the only good quality thing I've found so far..

Would love some advise.. is this something that happens often ? Was it perhaps NOT a fossil somehow? The grey shale deposit it supposed to be triassic.. and the creature didnt appear to have enough girth to actually make much of an indent in the shale pieces to even bother keeping them...

Jace.

It's hard to tell from the description alone, but if you found it inside sedimentary rock there's a good chance it was a fossil of some kind (some fossils are only preserved as thin films, sometimes flaky, sometimes firm, and there are ways of stabilizing delicate fossils), but what kind we can only tell from a pic. Keep looking for more and show us what you find next!

• I found this Informative 1

It's hard to tell from the description alone, but if you found it inside sedimentary rock there's a good chance it was a fossil of some kind (some fossils are only preserved as thin films, sometimes flaky, sometimes firm, and there are ways of stabilizing delicate fossils), but what kind we can only tell from a pic. Keep looking for more and show us what you find next!

Thankyou for getting back to me so fast :D i will hopefully be going out looking again this weekend :D im taking my camera this time and not touching the fossils! haha